News & Events

Kernel Awarded "Pulitzer Prize of College Journalism"

The Associated Collegiate Press (ACP) has awarded the Kentucky Kernel with the Pacemaker, one of the most prestigious awards in the country for student newspapers. This is the third time the paper has received the award in 10 years.

Laura Widmer, executive director of ACP, said the award ranks the student paper in the top 1 percent in the country and that it is considered the "Pulitzer Prize of college journalism."

Full story here.

Kernel story here.