Go to top of page

Hall of Fame

Tournament of Champions Coach's Hall of Fame

The coaches inducted into the Tournament of Champions Coaches Hall of Fame are selected from those program directors who have given of their time and energies in helping to maintain the high competitive standards of the TOC and whose students have distinguished themselves in competition at the TOC. This award, awarded irregularly, does not necessarily mean "Coach of the Year."

To nominate a coach to be included in the TOC Coach's Hall of Fame please click here.


Coach Hall of Fame Inductees 
1983: Phyllis Barton - Princeton High School (OH)
1984: Richard B. Sodikow - Bronx High School of Science (NY)
1985: Ted Belch - Glenbrook North High School (IL)
1986: Billy Tate - Montgomery Bell Academy (TN)
1987: Vicki Drinnon - Lake Braddock Secondary School (VA)
1992: Jeffrey Wortman - Glenbrook North High School (IL)
1993: Paul Newman - The Kinkaid School (TX)
1993: Alex Pritchard - Greenhill School (TX)
1993: Eric Di Michele - Regis High School (New York City)(NY)
1994: Daryl Fisher - Isidore Newman School (LA)
1997: Marilee Dukes - Vestavia Hills High School (AL)
1998: Tim Averill - Manchester High School (MA)
2001: Les Phillips - Lexington High School (MA)
2003: Matt Whipple - Glenbrook South High School (IL)
2004: David Baker - St. Mark's School, Dallas (TX)
2005: Pam Cady Wycoff - Apple Valley High School (MN)
2006: Dr. David Glass - Edgemont High School (NY)
2008: Aaron Timmons - Greenhill School (TX)
2009: Marie Dzuris - Centerville High School (OH)
2012: Jenny Heidt - The Westminster Schools (GA)
2014: Lisa Miller - Nova High School (FL)
2020: Jane Boyd - Grapevine High School (TX)


Hall of Distinguished Service

The Hall of Distinguished Service honors those individuals who have given years of their time to make the TOC possible.  They richly deserve our appreciate and recognition for their many years of distinguished service.  Collectively they have given over 60 years of service to the Tournament.

Hall of Service Inductees 
Marie Dzuris, Director of Debate- Centerville HS
David Hingstman, Director of Debate- University of Iowa
Steve Mancuso, Debate Coach-Princeton HS, former Director of Debate at the University of Michigan
Walter Ulrich, former Director of Debate- University of Northern Iowa
Minh Luong, LD Debate and financial consultant
Michael Burton, Director of Debate- Eastside Catholic HS
Greg Malis, Director of Debate- Isidore Newman HS
Aaron Kall, Director of Debate-University of Michigan
Marilyn Burke, President of the Julia Burke Foundation
Chris Palmer, Lexington High School and Tabroom website creator
Stefan Bauschard, Lakeland High School
Alexandra Sencer, Collegiate School
Adam Jacobi, WHSFA executive director