David T. Thompson
Executive Director, Kentucky Press Association

The Kentucky Press Association (KPA) is a membership organization for newspapers in Kentucky. All newspapers in Kentucky are members of KPA. The Association has attained 100 percent membership since 1993. They put on conventions, seminars for newspapers, challenging today because of the constant changes in technology. They operate an advertising placement service; a Freedom of Information Hotline; and lobby the legislature on any and all issues related to open government. From the hallowed walls of the journalism building in the 1960’s and 1970’s, with portable (and not electric) typewriters to today, what a difference! Now they keep up websites and Twitter and Facebook accounts, and even find newspapers getting into broadcast with video on websites of breaking news, and sharing content with media across the state and even the U.S. on an almost instant basis. KPA finds itself trying to keep up with the most modern technology at member newspapers, while encouraging others to quit lagging behind and get up to date with communication. 

Thompson graduated from the University of Kentucky in 1974 with a degree in Journalism.  Prior to attending UK, he was a sports writer for the Lexington Herald from 1964-1968 and 1969-1970.  He served in the United States Army in 1968 and 1969 and as a promotion specialist for the Kentucky Department of Public Information from 1970 to 1972. 

After graduating from UK, he was the Promotion Coordinator for KET, then Director of Media and Public Relations for Latonia Race Course in Florence, and then Publisher and Editor for the Georgetown News and Times, Georgetown, KY.  He has been Executive Director of KPA since 1983. 

He served as President of the Newspaper Association Managers, 2001-2002, an international organization of state, regional and national press association executive directors.  In 2006 he was inducted into the Kentucky Journalism Hall of Fame. He has served as chairman of the City of Georgetown, KY., Ethics Board since 2013 after being a member of the board in 2011-12.