The College of Communication and Information has several opportunities for undergraduate and graduate students to obtain scholarship funding. For a list of these scholarships, please see below.

All scholarship applications are now located in ScholarshipUniverse.
2023/2024 scholarship applications will be open January 1, 2023 to March 24, 2023


Click here for the Feb. 1, 2022 Scholarship and Financial Aid Informational Meeting Playback.


1. How do I login to ScholarshipUniverse?
    Click here to access ScholarshipUniverse.
2. Enter your UK linkblue email and password.
3. Answer all student profile questions provided.
4. Click on the “Scholarships” tab to begin applying.

For more information on logging in to ScholarshipUniverse, click here.
If you have further questions regarding ScholarshipUniverse, please visit

Additional funding and scholarship resources:

Scholarship offerings are subject to change.

  • This scholarship supports broadcast journalism students and is open to juniors entering the broadcast journalism sequence. Applicants must have a cumulative 3.2 GPA, have completed or must agree to take six hours of broadcast journalism, schedule an internship at a broadcast facility during their senior year and submit a 1,000-word statement describing their interest and commitment to broadcast journalism.
  • This scholarship was established in October 2010 in honor of David B. Dick, former CBS News correspondent, accomplished author, full professor and former director of the School of Journalism and Telecommunications. The recipient of the scholarship is selected by a scholarship committee. Good storytelling in journalism is defined as follows: presents a narrative with a beginning, middle and end; engages a reader or listener through a compelling idea; incorporates dialogue, narrative and suspense; is accurate and unbiased. The student must be a journalism major, have published or completed their work through student media, as part of a student internship or at any recognized media outlet; and the student may self-nominate or be nominated by any UK faculty or staff member. The first scholarship was awarded in 2011.
  • Established in 2011, the scholarship is available to a student in the Integrated Strategic Communication Department, who is a junior or senior with at least a 3.2 GPA in the major. To be eligible, the student must be a resident of Kentucky and submit a 500-word essay on their career plans and how those relate to the student’s chosen path in the Integrated Strategic Communication major.
  • The recipient of the Fellowship is selected by the Dorothy M. Carroza Memorial Fellowship Fund Committee. The student must be enrolled in the program as a graduate student and engaged in research with an emphasis on cancer control and/or cancer communication, with particular attention being given to those students already working in collaboration with research on cancer control or cancer communication with faculty in the College, the Markey Cancer Center or other UK Medical Center program. Students must apply. Applications are available in October and when funded will be selected in November. Michael Carozza created this fund in honor of the memory of his mother, Dorothy M. Carozza.
  • (NEW) The Douglas A. and Carole A. Boyd Professorship in Communication (Comm.) was established in 2011 by the former CI dean and his wife Carole. The Boyd Professorship is awarded to a Department of Communication faculty member that holds the rank of associate for full professor, has research interests clearly linked to Communication, has tenure and has made outstanding contributions to social scientific research and graduate education in the field of Communication. The recipient is selected by a committee appointed by the dean of the College.
  • This scholarship supports deserving students in the journalism school who exhibit academic excellence and show professional promise. The scholarship honors the memory of Edith J. and Charles G. Dickerson.
  • This is not a scholarship fund. This is an emergency fund created to honor Dr. Waldhart. Dr. Waldhart retired from the Department of Communication in June 2007. This fund provides support to students currently enrolled in the Graduate Program in Communication to meet emergency needs. The student must hold or have held a teaching assistantship in the Department of Communication or a research assistantship under the direction of a Department of Communication faculty member. The student must express need to the selection committee and complete the application for a short-term loan to cover the emergency or unexpected expense. Those emergencies can include flights/trips home to be with family on death or after learning of a terminal health diagnosis of a family member, personal illness, or for any unexpected or unusual expense they incur while enrolled in the Graduate Program. If approved, the student must agree to complete the UK Short-term loan application and, if the loan is to be repaid, a UK short-term promissory note application. The recipients of the fund are determined by a selection committee.
  • Eva Jean Winkle was a 1989 CI graduate. While at UK, she served on the staff of the Kentucky Kernel and during her tenure they received the paper's first-ever Pacemaker Award. Upon graduation from UK she worked at a Louisville television station. Eva was an accomplished freelance writer and published many news articles and stories and worked on numerous movie scripts in Hollywood. This scholarship is open to students in good academic standing in the School of Journalism and Telecommunications who are senior staff writers or editors of the Kentucky Kernel or its successor student newspaper and plan to pursue a career in journalism, print or other media. This scholarship cannot be awarded in until spring of 2015.
  • NEW---This scholarship honors Hunter S. Thompson, one of the most important journalists of the 20th century. The scholarship is awarded to a native Kentuckian, majoring in journalism that is deemed worthy based on merit and/or need as determined by the School of Journalism and Telecommunications Scholarship Committee.
  • NEW ---- This scholarship honors Hadley Stein. It is the donors preference that the scholarship be awarded to those students who have an interest in media production as a future career, who are Kentuckians, and are juniors or seniors at the University with an overall minimum GPA of 3.25. One scholarship will be awarded annually for the fall semester and the other for the spring semester. The recipient is selected by the School of Journalism and Telecommunications Scholarship Committee.