School of Information Science

Director: Dr. Jeffrey Huber

Degrees Offered: M.S. in Library Science, School Media Certification, M.S. in Information Communication Technology, B.A./B.S. in Information Communication Technology and an undergraduate minor in Information Studies
Website: School of Information Science
Location: Lucille Caudill Little Fine Arts Library

Mailing Address:

School of Information Science
University of Kentucky
320 Little Fine Arts Library
Lexington, Kentucky 40506-0224

Student Affairs: (859) 218-0956
Admissions: (859) 218-2290
Fax: (859) 257-4205


The program of study in Library Science is one of approximately 50 educational programs in the United States currently accredited by the American Library Association. It is the only such program in the Commonwealth of Kentucky. The School is a member of the Association for Library and Information Science Education (ALISE).

In addition to the Library and Information Science master's program, the School houses Instructional Communication and Research (ICR) at UK. It is the home of UK's online Information Studies undergraduate minor and the Information Communication Technology program, the first of its kind at UK, which includes (as of Fall 2015) the graduate Master's Degree Program in ICT.

In 1918, the first classes in library science were offered at the University of Kentucky. In 1932, the Department of Library Science was formed, becoming the Graduate School of Library Science in 1968 and finally the College of Library Science in 1970, earning it the distinction of being the first college of library science in the United States. It first established distance learning programs in 1973. The College of Library Science became the College of Library and Information Science in 1982 and in 1993 merged with the College of Communications to form the College of Communications and Information Studies, becoming the School of Library and Information Science. As of 2009, the School offers a fully online master’s degree in library science, with an undergraduate online minor in Information Studies made available in 2013. Instructional Communication and Research became a unit of the school in 2013, and the Information Communication Technology Program debuted in 2014. On July 1st, 2015, the School's name became the School of Information Science following the expansion of programs at the School (both at the graduate and undergraduate level) and reflecting the increasing diversity of professions in the information field.