Thanks to the generosity of our alumni and other donors, we are fortunate to host several endowed lecture series and special programs.  These programs put our students in contact with outstanding professionals.


The James C. Bowling Executive-in-Residence Program is an annual public relations-focused event.  The Bowling Lecturers are a who’s who of public relations greats.  The program was created by alumnus Jack Guthrie, with initial funding from Joseph M. Cullman 3rd, retired chairman of the board at Philip Morris.


The Joe Creason Lecture in Journalism is an annual lecture by a nationally-prominent journalist.  The series honors the memory of Joe Creason, an outstanding Kentucky journalist.  The lecture series was made possible through a matching grant from the Bingham Enterprises Foundation of Kentucky and gifts donated by UK alumni and friends of Joe Creason.


The Gidel/Lombardo Lecture in Sports Communication is a recurring lecture series featuring a sports journalist, sports publicist, or other sports communicator.  The Gidel/Lombardo Lecture series was made possible by a gift from the Gidel and Lombardo families  in honor of Rob Gidel Jr.'s graduation from the University of Kentucky journalism program. 


The Excellence in Public Relations Award is given in conjunction with the James C. Bowling Executive-in-Residence Program.  It honors a Kentuckian who has had an outstanding career in public relations.


The Kentucky Advertising Hall of Fame was established in 1992 to honor and recognize Kentuckians who have made significant contributions to the advertising field.