You are here

2022 Kentucky Journalism Hall of Fame

2022 Kentucky Journalism Hall of Fame

Sep 22, 2022
5:30pm to 7:00pm

The 42nd class of the Kentucky Journalism Hall of Fame event will be inducted Thursday, September 22, 2022

2022 Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony

Eight journalists with careers that covered some of the biggest stories of the late-20th and early 21st centuries make up the 42nd class of the Kentucky Journalism Hall of Fame.

The induction ceremony will be September 22 at 5:30 p.m. in the Gatton Student Center Ballroom at the University of Kentucky. 

Invitations to the event will be issued.

This year’s inductees are:

  • Former Kentucky resident Scott Applewhite, four-decade and Pulitzer Prize-winning senior photojournalist with The Associated Press based in Washington, D.C.;
  • Paducah native Jerry Brewer, a national sports columnist forThe Washington Post;
  • The late Melissa Forsythe, who was a news anchor and reporter for WAVE-3 and WHAS-11 in Louisville;
  • The late John B. Gaines of Bowling Green, who was president and publisher of the Bowling Green Daily News for six decades; 
  • The late Bill Mardis of Somerset, a Taylor County native who served more than 50 years as a reporter, editor and columnist at the Commonwealth Journal;
  • Mark Maynard of Kentucky Today, an online news service published by the Kentucky Baptist Convention, who also had a distinguished 45-year career at The Daily Independent in Ashland, Kentucky;
  • Lexington native Stuart Warner, whose five-decade career included serving as Lexington Herald-Leader sports editor and a Pulitzer Prize-winning editor at the Plain Dealer of Cleveland; and
  • Louisville native Deborah Yetter, a Pulitzer Prize-winning reporter and editor who has spent decades at The Courier-Journal, and before that, the Louisville Times.

Click here to learn more about the Kentucky Journalism Hall of Fame.