Diversity and Inclusion

The College of Communication and Information is committed to fostering a diverse, welcoming, empowering, and inclusive community. We believe that diversity and inclusion are drivers of excellence, collaboration, creativity, and success. We strongly support intellectual freedom and the right to hold diverse perspectives, while at the same time condemning all forms of hatred and oppression.

A committee to foster diversity and inclusivity within the College of Communication and Information was established in May 2010.

The committee works toward raising consciousness, comfort and competency in dealing with diversity/inclusion issues within the College. It also collects existing indicators for measuring progress and researches and discusses evaluation strategies for assessing the College’s progress in achieving greater diversity and inclusion.

CI is committed to promoting and protecting diversity among its students, faculty and staff. It recognizes the value and importance of working with diverse individuals and groups as manifested in the full spectrum of socioeconomic, intellectual and individual dimensions such as race, ethnicity, age, gender, sexual orientation, religion, physical abilities, political beliefs, and national or geographic origin. The college is dedicated to creating a welcoming environment and affirming climate in which everyone feels respected and included through its innovative curricula, research, scholarship, and creative activities.

More specifically, the committee makes efforts to 1) Establish a common understanding of diversity and inclusion that equips all members of the College to navigate effectively in a diverse world; 2) Promote curricular and co-curricular transformation that recognizes the educational advantages of diversity; and 3) Enhance College/campus/community collaborations in areas where opportunities exist to build diversity and increase inclusion.

The committee members are: Tae Baek, Shannon Oltmann, Nathan Stevens, Nancy Harrington, Jenn Scarduzio and Kyra Hunting. Dr. Oltmann (shannon.oltmann [at] uky.edu) is the current diversity officer for the College.

[PDF]2010-2011 CI Report to the VP Office of Institutional Diversity at UK
[PDF] 2011-2012 CI Report to the VP Office of Institutional Diversity at UK
[PDF] 2012-2013 CI Report to the VP Office of Institutional Diversity at UK
PDF] 2017-2018 Anual Report: College Diversity and Inclusion Committee