The College of Communication and Information has several opportunities for undergraduate and graduate students to obtain scholarship funding. For a list of these scholarships, please see below.

All scholarship applications are now located in ScholarshipUniverse.
2023/2024 scholarship applications will be open January 1, 2023 to March 24, 2023


Click here for the Feb. 1, 2022 Scholarship and Financial Aid Informational Meeting Playback.


Click here to download the ScholarshipUniverse Student Guide.


1. How do I login to ScholarshipUniverse?
    Click here to access ScholarshipUniverse.
2. Enter your UK linkblue email and password.
3. Answer all student profile questions provided.
4. Click on the “Scholarships” tab to begin applying.

For more information on logging in to ScholarshipUniverse, click here.
If you have further questions regarding ScholarshipUniverse, please visit

Additional funding and scholarship resources:

Scholarship offerings are subject to change.

  • This scholarship honors the memory of Adam Altman, a former student in the School and son of ISC professor Dennis Altman. The scholarship is awarded to an ISC major who exhibits creativity in the discipline.
  • This fund was established in 2006. The scholarship is awarded to students who are presently enrolled in the program and have declared a major in Media Arts & Studies. A letter, application and a 500-word essay on the topic, "Societal implications of digital media delivery technologies" is required.
  • This fund was established in 2005 to honor Bernie Vonderheide. Bernie Vonderheide spent 23 years of his public relations career speaking on behalf of the University of Kentucky. The scholarship is open to students who demonstrate an interest in public relations as a career and have reporting experience either on or off campus. A 500-word essay is required. The essay should cover this topic, "Public relations professionals play a vital role in representing government programs and activities to the news media. At the same time, PR professionals also can help governmental officials understand the critical role journalists play in a democracy, and how they go about fulfilling that role. Please describe the specific role you believe a public relations professional in government should take in helping officials and journalists interact in a meaningful way, and how this help both serve the public interest." Vonderheide received the 2005 Kentucky Excellence in Public Relations Award and the CI Friend of the College Award in 2010.
  • This scholarship honors the memory of William O. Billiter, a successful journalist and UK graduate who built a distinguished career in Journalism. Billiter wrote for the Louisville Courier-Journal, the Winchester Sun and the Los Angeles Times. The scholarship is awarded to an incoming freshman that is a declared pre-journalism major. The applicant must show financial need and must have the desire for a career in journalism.
  • This scholarship is awarded to a graduate student who shows excellence in mass communication theory and research. The scholarship honors the memory of Bruce H. Westley, a former professor in the College and director of the School of Journalism and Telecommunications.
  • This scholarship is awarded to students with strong writing skills, high academic standards, interest in a journalism career through work on campus and is a declared journalism major. The scholarship honors the memory of Carol Sutton, the first woman to head a major American newspaper when she became managing editor of the Louisville Courier-Journal in 1974. Sutton is a member of the Kentucky Journalism Hall of Fame (1985).
  • This fund was established by Michael Carozza, (CI,’77). This fund supports a fellowship for graduate students who demonstrate academic excellence, leadership traits, and intends to pursue a career in health communication or to provide support to doctoral students interested in health communication research at UK. Michael created this award in honor of his father and his brother, both named Anthony V. Carozza. The first award was presented in 2011.
  • Students may be undergraduate or graduate students in the College, must demonstrate financial need, and be graduates of a high school located in Pike, Letcher, Harlan or Floyd Counties in Kentucky. The student must write a letter explaining their interest in and qualifications for the scholarship and how receiving the scholarship will help them to continue their education. This scholarship was established by J. David Johnson, the College’s former dean and his wife Dr. Sally Johnson, in honor of his parents.
  • Upper Division students only. Established in 1990, these scholarships are awarded to two juniors and two seniors that demonstrate the potential for academic success and show need for financial assistance. Applications should be returned to 107 Grehan Journalism Building. Applications will be due September 1, 2016.
  • Each year, the Department of Communication offers an Outstanding Senior Award and an Outstanding Junior Award. These awards are based entirely on academic merit. Eligible students will be contacted by the unit to apply for this award. Winners are selected by a faculty committee.