The College of Communication and Information has several opportunities for undergraduate and graduate students to obtain scholarship funding. For a list of these scholarships, please see below.

All scholarship applications are now located in ScholarshipUniverse.
Deadline for 2022/2023 freshman scholarships is December 1, 2021 (applications open October 1, 2021)
Deadline for 2022/2023 transfer/returning student scholarships is March 25, 2022 (applications open January 1, 2022)
Deadline for 2022/2023 graduate program scholarships is June 15, 2022

1. How do I login to ScholarshipUniverse?
    Click here to access ScholarshipUniverse.
2. Enter your UK linkblue email and password.
3. Answer all student profile questions provided.
4. Click on the “Scholarships” tab to begin applying.

If you have more questions regarding ScholarshipUniverse, please visit

Additional funding and scholarship resources:

Scholarship offerings are subject to change.

  • This fund supports students that have demonstrated the potential for academic success. The award honors the memory of Dr. Plummer, director of the School of Journalism from 1940 to 1965. Plummer is a member of the Kentucky Journalism Hall of Fame (1982).
  • Lois Mai Chan SLIS Student Enrichment Fund (SIS) was established to honor Dr. Lois Mai Chan and her 40 plus years service to the School and its students. Dr. Chan retired in December 2011. When endowed, funds may be used for scholarships, travel to professional meetings or internship programs, and poster and paper presentations. No awards are being made at this time.
  • This award supports a sophomore, junior or senior Journalism major who has demonstrated academic excellence and shows promise. The award was established by the late Mrs. Daysie DeSpain in memory of her son.
  • This scholarship honors the memory of Maria Braden, a UK journalism professor for 21 years who died on July 20, 2004. This scholarship is offered to both pre-journalism and journalism majors. Braden is a member of the Kentucky Journalism Hall of Fame (2004).
  • This scholarship is awarded to a graduate student in Communications whose emphasis is in interpersonal, organizational, or mass communication research, or who, in the opinion of the Scholarship Committee, has demonstrated academic excellence through past performance. The scholarship honors the memory of Martha and Howard Sypher.
  • This award is presented annually to a graduate student in SLIS for excellence in scholarship, leadership and service. This fund honors the memory of Melody Trosper. She completed her SLIS degree in 1980 and shortly afterwards was killed in an automobile accident.
  • This scholarship honors Mildred Semmons, the first director of Library Science at the University of Kentucky. This scholarship fund was established through a bequest from her estate in 1969. Miss Semmons came to UK in 1930 to teach courses in library science that had been taught by Margaret I. King. These courses were offered in the Department of English. She was named head of a new library science unit in 1935 and remained in that position until 1944, when she retired. Mrs. Semmons died in 1965 at the age of 76.
  • This award provides a plaque or a monetary award to an outstanding journalism major from Eastern Kentucky. The award honors the memory of Webb, who was the founder of the Mountain Eagle newspaper in Whitesburg, KY. Webb is a member of the Kentucky Journalism Hall of Fame (1995).
  • NEW. The O'Hair Fund for Leadership, Innovation and Entrepreneurship will be awarded annually to an undergraduate student who is enrolled in the iNET (Innovation Network for Entrepreneurial Thinking) Undergraduate Certificate Program in the College of Communication and Information, has a cumulative G.P.A. of 3.25 when applying for the award, has a demonstrated interest in leadership, innovation and entrepreneurship, and has partnered with a faculty member in the iNET Certificate Program or a faculty member of one of iNET's University of Kentucky academic partners to develop a business plan, develop an idea that cultivates entrepreneurial thinking, or have been involved in developing an idea to meld research and practice.
  • This Fund was established in honor of his retirement in spring 2012 from the College. The Fellowship shall is awarded to a student enrolled in the College's Graduate Program in Communication, whose major focus is health communication, who has shown a commitment to excellence in the program, and has been significantly involved in health communication and research--preferably research-related to health communication campaigns.