The College of Communication and Information has several opportunities for undergraduate and graduate students to obtain scholarship funding. For a list of these scholarships, please see below.

All scholarship applications are now located in ScholarshipUniverse.
2023/2024 scholarship applications will be open January 1, 2023 to March 24, 2023


Click here for the Feb. 1, 2022 Scholarship and Financial Aid Informational Meeting Playback.


1. How do I login to ScholarshipUniverse?
    Click here to access ScholarshipUniverse.
2. Enter your UK linkblue email and password.
3. Answer all student profile questions provided.
4. Click on the “Scholarships” tab to begin applying.

For more information on logging in to ScholarshipUniverse, click here.
If you have further questions regarding ScholarshipUniverse, please visit

Additional funding and scholarship resources:

Scholarship offerings are subject to change.

  • This fellowship is part of the Institute for Rural Journalism and Community Issues Endowment. The fellowship recipient is determined by the Director of the School of Journalism and Telecommunications, the Director of the IRJCI, and the Associate Dean for the Graduate Program in Communication. A rural female graduate student in the College shall be considered and if none are eligible, then any graduate student in the College who has an interest in rural journalism may apply. This fund was established by Lois Mateus. Mateus was the recipient of the Kentucky Excellence in Public Relations Award in 2004.
  • This scholarship will be awarded to a student who is a resident of Henderson County, KY.; if in any given year none are eligible then the scholarship can be awarded to any student in the School of Journalism and Telecommunications who resides in Ballard, Butler, Caldwell, Calloway, Carlisle, Christian, Crittenden, Daviess, Fulton, Graves, Hancock, Hickman, Hopkins, Livingston, Lyon, Logan, Marshall, McCracken, McLean, Muhlenberg, Ohio, Todd, Trigg, Union or Webster Counties. The student must show an interest in public affairs reporting; demonstrate financial need; and be declared pre-major or major in the School of Journalism and Telecommunications. This scholarship was established by Judy Clabes in honor of her parents and their abiding love for the University of Kentucky, their insatiable interest in the news and public affairs, and appreciation of the value of education.
  • This fund supports an outstanding ISC major. The award honors the memory of Schulte, an associate professor of advertising in the School of Journalism and Telecommunications for nine years.
  • This fund supports activities of the annual Tournament of Champions and can be used for fee reductions for participating teams, the annual Breakfast of Champions event, meals for competitors, academic scholarships for champions, travel grants, and an annual J.W. Patterson Policy Debate Scholarship to the TOC Policy Debate Champion and the second place TOC Policy Debate Team.
  • This scholarship supports graduate students seeking Library Science degrees. The award honors the memories of Vivian J. MacQuown, a retired UK faculty member and her daughter, Melissa MacQuown Forsyth. Mrs. Forsyth (LIS/1989) was the Director of Libraries for Big Sandy Technical College Systems.
  • This fund supports students that exhibit academic excellence and dedication to a career in the mass media and communication industries.
  • This scholarship was established in 2004 by Marvin Burdine to honor his sister Williena, a librarian in the Somerset, Kentucky school system for 25 years. To be eligible for the award students must be from one of Kentucky's Appalachian counties (as defined by the ARC), demonstrate financial need, as determined by the Office of Financial Need, and be a major in Library Science.