Skip to main content


Excellence in teaching is a multi-faceted achievement and it requires not only mastery of subject matter, but awareness of current developments and a vision of what is to come. It requires the ability to communicate that knowledge to students in ways that foster understanding, intellectual growth and a broadening of perspectives. It requires a commitment to igniting respect for the discipline and a desire to uphold the values and ethics of the discipline. It requires a never-ending quest to stay attuned to student needs, concerns and interests. It requires discipline to challenge students with robust, diverse assignments that demand thorough, thoughtful evaluation by the teacher. Excellence in teaching is championed and honored by the College of Communication and Information through its annual Faculty Teaching Excellence Award. The award consists of a plaque, $350 in cash, recognition at the College Excellence Awards and the recipient may be eligible for a supplemental salary award as outlined in the Wethington Faculty Incentive Plan.


The award is open to any current full-time faculty member who has been employed for at least one year by the College. Former award recipients are eligible to receive the award after a three-year period. This includes faculty with administrative appointments such as the Director, Department Chair or Associate Dean. The Dean of the College is not eligible.

Past Winners

  • 2023, Adriane Grumbein, ISC
  • 2022 Jen Smith, JAM
  • 2021 Renee Kaufmann, SIS 
  • 2020 Kelly McAninch, COM 
  • 2019 Anthony Limperos, COM 
  • 2018 Kimberly Parker, JAM 
  • 2017 T. Kody Frey, SIS  and David Stephenson, JAM 
  • 2016  Maria Cahill, SIS 
  • 2015 Namjoo Choi, SIS 
  • 2014 Matthew Savage, COM 
  • 2013 Anthony Limperos, ICR, Cyndy Miller, COM  and Allison Scott, COM 
  • 2012 Brandi Frisby, COM 
  • 2011 Jeffrey Huber, SIS 
  • 2010 Lisa O'Connor, SIS 
  • 2009 Mel Coffee, JAT 
  • 2008 Lisa O'Connor, SIS 
  • 2007 Kevin Real, COM 
  • 2006 J. Michael Farrell, JAT 
  • 2005 Aaron Boyson, COM 
  • 2004 Yvonne Cappe, JAT Faculty
  • 2003 John Clark, JAT 
  • 2002 Rosemary Bryant, COM 
  • 2001 Lois Chan, SIS 
  • 2000 Joseph Miller, SIS 
  • 1999 No award given
  • 1998 Derek Lane, COM 
  • 1997 Bruce Berger, Graduate Teaching Assistant
  • 1996 Alan DeSantis, COM 
  • 1995 Richard Roth, JAT 
  • 1994 James Hertog, JAT 
  • 1993 Ramona Rush, COM 
  • 1992 S. Scott Whitlow, JAT 
  • 1991 Vince R. Waldron, 
  • 1990 Enid Waldhart, COM 

Connect with CI